Salute to Philly Boxers  Awardees

Tevin Farmer

- 2018 Boxer of the Year -

This page will show current awardees
and previous boxers of the year.

New annual award - The "Smokin' Joe Frazier Memorial Spririt Award was presented to - Joe Hand Sr. 
(the 1st one was in 2012)

Judge – Lynne Carter

Referee – Shawn Clark

Matchmaker – Russell Peltz

Trainer – Rashad Brown

Manager – Lando Rosa

Upcoming Boxer – Christian Carto

Blast from the Past – ?

Boxing Writer – George Hanson 2012 to 2018

Cut-man (Joey Eye Award) - ?

Promoter - Marshall Kaffman

Fan of the year - ?

Most tolerant spouse - Mrs. Marshall Kauffman

Boxing facility - Marian Anderson Recreation Center

Special Awards by:
Dave Wilkes

2018 - 1) Boxers Against Cancer - presented by: Paul "Earthquake" Moore
2) Hidden Hero award - Simon "One Punch" Carr & Paul Moore
3) Supporter award - Velma "Baby TNT" Garrett
Special Presentation by Earl Weeks: Veteran Boxer award to a boxer fromthe military

2014 - Fred Jenkins Jr. (outstanding boxer) & Sharron Baker (outstanding achievements)

2013 - Boxing champions - past & present

2012 - Smokin' Joe Frazier Memorial Spirit Award

2011 - Retirement award for being a sports/boxing writer
Mr. Elmer Smith

2008 - A retirement from being a referee award for the great and legendary
Mr. Frank Cappucino.

2009 - A retirement from being a referee award for the also great and legendary
Mr Rudy Battle. Now state athletic commissioner.

2010 - A dedication award to the memory of Pete Shafik Lyde, Jr.

2011 - Inspirational award to Dewey Bozella
Retirement award from sports writing to Elmer Smith
Ringside Doctor - Dr. Steinberg

Frank Cappucino
Famous referee

Rudy Battle
Famous referee
Went on to become the PA State Athletic

2007 banquet was dedicated to WOMEN in boxing in the Philadelphia surrounding area.

Left to right - Elizabeth Cunningham, Venoca Micheals, Rose Vargus, Lucille Fletcher, Dave Wilkes (promoter), Sharron Baker, Lynne Carter, Velma Garret

Past Boxers Of The Year


1997 Charles "The Hatchet" Brewer

1998 Ivan "Mighty" Robinson

1999 David "The American Dream" Reid

2000 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2001 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2002 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2003 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2004 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2005 Zahir Raheem

2006 Demetrous Hopkins

2007 Eddie Chambers

2008 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2009 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2010 Danny "Swift" Garcia

2011 Hammerin' Hank Lundy

2012 Danny "Swift" Garcia

2013 Danny "Swift" Garcia

2014 Steve "USS" Cunningham

2015 Amir "Hardcore" Mansour

2016 Jason Sosa

2018 Tevin Farmer